Although I have been crocheting for a few years, there are a few things that still intimidate me. One is crocheting in the round, and the other is using a fine gauge yarn or thread and small hooks.

Practice

I saw this pattern for crocheted coasters from The Green Dragonfly, and wanted to give it a try. They just look so summery! They use a DK/3 weight yarn and a small hook, and are crocheted in the round. I am comfortable with that yarn weight, but still decided to do a test run using a worsted/4 weight cotton yarn and an H hook.

I am glad I did because I still have problems moving to the next row in the round, and the larger yarn helped me to better see where I needed to go each time. As you can tell by the scale with the hook in the picture, this turned out much larger than a coaster…sort of mini-trivet sized, but now I am ready to give the coasters a go.

The pattern was easy to follow, and there were clear step-by-step photos that were a valuable reference. This is a perfect small project for a hot day when the urge to crochet is there, but the idea of an afghan across you lap is just too much.