Roving

I really like it when friends send me ideas for Thing-a-Day. If I have the materials I like give them a try.  A few days ago, a friend sent me this link.As luck would have it, I had a bag of roving in my stash (thanks to Terri) and had been looking for a way to use it.

I’ve finger crocheted a chain stitch before, but this was my first attempt at trying a real stitch. It is also the first time I’ve crocheted with roving.  This is done in rounds of single crochet and it took a couple of rounds to get the rhythm. Not using a hook makes it feel at first like you are wrestling with the fiber. Eventually, I figured out how to keep the yarn on my hand while still grabbing the feeder piece.

The roving is acrylic and is actually the roving that would be used for one of Lion Brand’s Homespun colors.

 

